PBS Programs Among James Beard Media Award Winners

Last Updated by Sydney Cameron on

Winners of the 2018 James Beard Media Award were announced on Friday, April 27. The annual James Beard Awards are given by the James Beard Foundation and are the highest honor for food and beverage professionals working in North America. PBS and member station programs were awarded three Broadcast Media Awards. The winners are listed below.


Special (on TV or Web)

Lidia Celebrates America: Homegrown Heroes

Host: Lidia Bastianich

Producer: Laurie Donnelly, Anne Adams, and Shelly Burgess Nicotra



Television Segment

PBS NewsHour

Reporters: Allison Aubrey and Paul Solman

Producer: Mary Beth Durkin



Additional Public Television Winner:

Outstanding Personality/Host

Pati’s Mexican Table - Pati Jinich

WETA Washington; Distributed Nationally by American Public Television