PBS Member Stations Elect Board Members

Posted by PBS Publicity on

ALEXANDRIA, VA October 24, 2000 Five station executives and four lay directors have been elected by Public Broadcasting Service stations to the PBS board of directors. The PBS board also elected two general directors, as well as one station executive to fill a vacant seat. All terms begin October 24.

Professional Directors elected to three-year terms:

--Dennis L. Haarsager (incumbent), associate vice president and general manager, educational telecommunications and technology, KWSU/KTNW Washington State University, Pullman, Washington.

-- George L. Miles, Jr. (incumbent), president and chief executive officer, WQED Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

-- Rita Ray (incumbent), executive director, West Virginia Educational Broadcasting Authority, Charleston, West Virginia.

-- Sharon Percy Rockefeller (incumbent), president and chief executive officer, WETA Washington, D.C.

-- Jerrold F. Wareham, president and chief executive officer, WVIZ Cleveland, Ohio.

Professional Director elected to a one-year term:

-- Leon Collins, director of telecommunications and general manager, WFUM/University of Michigan Public Television, Flint, Michigan. (Serving the remaining year of a three-year term).

Lay Directors elected to four-year terms:

-- Alice Stone Ilchman, chairman of the board, The Rockefeller Foundation, New York, New York.

-- Steven W. Korn, former vice chairman and chief operating officer, CNN, Atlanta, Georgia.

-- Norman J. Ornstein, resident scholar, The American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, Washington, D.C.

-- Walter L. Weisman, chairman of the board, Sundance Institute, and former chairman and chief executive officer of American Medical International, Inc., Los Angeles, California.

General Directors:

-- Colin G. Campbell (incumbent), chairman, president and chief executive officer, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Williamsburg, Virginia (one-year term).

-- Alberto IbargŸen (incumbent), publisher, The Miami Herald, Miami, Florida (four-year term).

PBS, headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia, is a private, nonprofit media enterprise owned and operated by the nation's 347 public television stations. Serving nearly 100 million people each week, PBS enriches the lives of all Americans through quality programs and education services on noncommercial television, the Internet and other media. More information about PBS is available at www.pbs.org.


Dara Goldberg

Jan McNamara